Monday, February 28, 2011

Ogilvy on Advertising

creativity


"I have never made the slightest effort to compose anything original."
- Mozart

Sunday, February 27, 2011

soup


"I didn't feel for Warhol ... His work reflected a culture I wanted to avoid. I hated the soup and felt little for the can. I preferred an artist who transformed his time, not mirrored it."
- Patti Smith, Just Kids, p.69

Saturday, February 26, 2011

bike commercial

Friday, February 25, 2011

white and red

Presynaptic activity (in white) of a single neuron (in red). Source here.

Thursday, February 24, 2011

aphorism


"Anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die."
- Buddhist dictum

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Thursday, February 10, 2011

a nervous 23 year old Steve Jobs preps for his first tv appearance



"You need to tell me where the restroom is too because I'm deathly ill and ready to throw up at any moment"

Sunday, February 6, 2011

uncontacted tribes

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Transcendentalist


“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”
- Ralph Waldo Emerson

Friday, February 4, 2011

arrows


An Efe pygmy prepares poison arrows for hunting monkeys. Source here.

Thursday, February 3, 2011

vision


" ... to be an artist was to see what others could not."
- Patti Smith, Just Kids, p. 11

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

motivation

"History shows people just as prepared to fight for honour and recognition as they are for less abstract concepts like food or territory."
- Attributed to Francis Fukuyama