Sunday, September 15, 2019

you're fired



Before making it big, Walt Disney was fired for not being creative enough. Jerry Seinfeld and Thomas Edison were also fired in their early careers. 

Saturday, September 14, 2019

natural resources


Source: CIA Factbook

Thursday, September 12, 2019

mashugana


“Your life story would not make a good book. Don’t even try.”
Fran Lebowitz

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

in the moment



“True happiness is… to enjoy the present without anxious dependence on the future.”
- Seneca [c. 4 BCE – AD 65]

Monday, September 9, 2019

on buddhism

Sunday, September 8, 2019

on creativity


“The future is uncertain, but this uncertainty is at the very heart of human creativity.”
Ilya Prigogine

Saturday, September 7, 2019

epic failure until he wasn't


"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts."

Impressionism




Monet studied landscapes; Renoir studied people.

Thursday, September 5, 2019

warrior monk


"You're technically illiterate unless you've read at least a couple of hundred books."
- General James "Mad Dog" Mattis, who has a 7000 volume library

on anxiety

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

god is dead



“Sometimes people don't want to hear the truth because they don't want their illusions destroyed.”
Friedrich Nietzsche [1844 - 1900]

polytheistic axiom



"Rome can only succeed with the gods on its side."

Monday, September 2, 2019

on history


"To be ignorant of what occurred before you were born is to remain always a child."
- Cicero [106 BC – 7 December 43 BCE]

personal computing


“Success is a lousy teacher. It seduces smart people into thinking they can’t lose.”
Bill Gates

Sunday, September 1, 2019

stoic


"The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane."
- Marcus Aurelius [112 AD - 180 AD]

M*A*S*H


first self-made man


"I choose the likely man in preference to the rich man; I want a man without money rather than money without a man."
- Themistocles [c.524 BCE - 459 BCE]

father of geometry


"QED - Quod erat demonstrandum"
- Euclid [Mid-4th century - Mid-5th century BCE]