Saturday, May 18, 2019

formal relationship with death



Wa

See volunteer perspective here.

Thursday, May 16, 2019

Saturday, May 11, 2019

Monday, May 6, 2019

humanist


“All seem to me to have some truth and some error, but everyone recognizes the other’s error and nobody discerns his own.”
Michael Servetus (a Spanish theologian, physician, cartographer, and Renaissance humanist burnt at the stake for heresy in 1553)

HatTip: Finimize

Las Vegas Pizza Expo

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

so mature



“The man who views the world at 50 the same as he did at 20 has wasted 30 years of his life.”
Muhammad Ali

Sunday, April 28, 2019

A hand


Royal and commoner baby help here.

Thursday, April 25, 2019

on undeserved success

mortification


"Anyone who isn’t embarrassed by who they were last year probably isn’t learning enough."
Alain de Botton

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

french polish



"Alcohol takes the polish off of furniture and people."

3 months


In World War II, the life expectancy of a Jeep was 90 days.

whaling


“It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation.”
Herman Melville

Sunday, April 21, 2019

Primary Takeaway


"In space you can put on your pants two legs at a time."
- Commander Chris Hadfield

Saturday, April 20, 2019

a look inside



Notre Dame post fire here.

Friday, April 19, 2019

on obsession


"I can think of nothing else than this machine."
- James Watt

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

height, width, depth


"The only thing new in the world is the history you don't know."
- Harry Truman

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

The point of medieval structures


To make you feel awe.


Saturday, April 13, 2019

on modesty


"Not the greatest architect that has ever lived. The greatest architect that ever will live."
- Frank Lloyd Wright

Thursday, April 11, 2019

on volunteerism and voting


"Nobody made a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little."
- Edmund Burke

Sunday, April 7, 2019

thrasher



Neal “The Dude” Unger has an internet following as the oldest, coolest skater. He can't think of anything else when he's skating other than skating, so it's a great stress reliever. Video here.

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

portuguese shakespeare


“Time changes, and our desires change. What we 
believe – even what we are – is ever-changing. The world is change, which forever takes on new qualities.”
Luís Vaz de Camões

Saturday, March 30, 2019

greatest still life


Francisco de Zurbarán, Baroque Gravitas

how to go bankrupt


“How did you go bankrupt?" "Two ways. Gradually, then suddenly.”
― Ernest Hemingway, The Sun Also Rises

Klondike


"The proper function of man is to live, not to exist. I shall not waste my days in trying to prolong them. I shall use my time."
- Jack London

on Vermeer



Part 1



Part 2



Part 3



Part 4

Thursday, March 28, 2019

go for it


“Since the danger of living in wretchedness is greater than the danger of dying soon, he is a fool who refuses to stake a little time and win a hazard of great gain.”
– Attributed to Seneca the Younger

vocab



"Schlimmbesserung": A German word which describes an effort to make things better that actually ends up making things worse.

Sunday, March 24, 2019

Thursday, March 21, 2019

super moon


“When spring came, even the false spring, there were no problems except where to be happiest. The only thing that could spoil a day was people and if you could keep from making engagements, each day had no limits. People were always the limiters of happiness except for the very few that were as good as spring itself.”
― Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Sunday, March 17, 2019

stone carving

Wednesday, March 13, 2019

progenitor


“It is the historian’s function, not to make us clever for the next time, but to make us wise forever.”
Jacob Burckhardt

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Happiest cities in America


Source: WalletHub

Monday, March 11, 2019

bohemian

“We swallow greedily any lie that flatters us, but we sip only little by little at a truth we find bitter.”
Denis Diderot

Thursday, March 7, 2019

enlightenment groundwork


“I have striven not to laugh at human actions, not to weep at them, nor to hate them, but to understand them.”
Baruch Spinoza

Sunday, March 3, 2019

Inferno


"Here's the path out of Hell to Paradise."
- On Dante

Monday, February 25, 2019

1st draft


"You can write drunk, but you must rewrite sober."
- Ernest Hemingway

Thursday, February 21, 2019

baroness


"To be content with little is difficult; to be content with much, impossible."
- Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Sunday, February 17, 2019

"eye-opener"


Harry Truman started his day at 5am with a 1 mile walk, a massage and a shot of bourbon.

Monday, February 11, 2019

pipe


"Be respectful to your superiors, if you have any."

Sunday, February 10, 2019

ahoy!


"Everything being the same, there will be more plastic in the ocean than fish by 2050."
- Dame Ellen MacArthur, who holds the earth sailing circumnavigation world record

unk ungani


“I believe our Heavenly Father invented man because he was disappointed in the monkey."
- Mark Twain

Thursday, February 7, 2019

Magnum


A glimpse into the intersection of photography and cinema here.

35


"Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that."
- Martin Luther King, Jr.

Wednesday, February 6, 2019

voracious


“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.”
- Virginia Woolf

father of history


“Of all men’s miseries the bitterest is this: to know so much and to have control over nothing.”
Herodotus

Washington on H2O

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

a reunion


Xunzi


“Not having heard something is not as good as having heard it; having heard it is not as good as having seen it; having seen it is not as good as knowing it; knowing it is not as good as putting it into practice.”
- Xun Kuang

Monday, February 4, 2019

eternal vigilance


“History, like nature, knows no jumps, except the jump backward, maybe.”

Sunday, February 3, 2019

poet and philosopher


"Pleasant it is, when over a great sea the winds trouble the waters, to gaze from shore upon another's great tribulation: not because any man's troubles are a delectable joy, but because to perceive you are free of them yourself is pleasant."
- Titus Lucretius Carus

Mr. Mayor


"You'll never know who you are until you encounter who you are not."
- Jermaine Wilson, Mayor of Leavenworth, Kansas, formerly convicted drug dealer.

on addiction


"As an alcoholic, you will violate your standards quicker than you can lower them."
- Robin Williams

Friday, February 1, 2019

cannabis psychosis experience


- Freelance journalist Jennifer Foden explains here.
Jennifer Foden, Freelance journalist

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

polymath


"Nothing is more beautiful than to know all."
- Athanasius Kircher