Wednesday, March 30, 2016

sticks and stones


"It makes no difference if what they say about you isn't so."
- Harry Truman

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

friends, family, acquaintances


"For a long time I cared about what they thought of me. Now I care about what I think about them."
- Brooke Astor

Monday, March 28, 2016

Alma mater


Kurt Cobain left resources to his old high-school to fund art scholarships without consideration of academic performance.

Sunday, March 27, 2016

tribal


Thomas Gibbons video here.

Saturday, March 26, 2016

on redundancy


"Everything has been said, but not everyone has said it yet."
- Hungarian MP

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Old Rhyme


We are the pure and chosen few
And all the rest are damned
There’s room enough in hell for you
We don’t want heaven crammed.
- English Calvinism

surprise!


“Life is a great surprise. I do not see why death should not be an even greater one.”

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

on consultants


"An expert is a fast-talking guy from out of town."
- Abbie Hoffman

Monday, March 21, 2016

routine


"5am to 8am is my writing time."
- Patti Smith

Friday, March 18, 2016

routine


"I work from 11am to 3pm Then I go to the gym."
- Ricky Gervais

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Philosophy on Trouble


"Don't feed it. Maybe it'll go away."
- Frank Sinatra

Monday, March 14, 2016

setbacks, simpletons, dunderheads



"Any featherhead can be confident in time of Victory. The test is to have faith when things are going badly."
- Winston Churchill

Friday, March 11, 2016

Nelson and Wellington


The only thing Napoleon liked about being incarcerated on St. Helena was the coffee.


"History will be kind to me for I intend to write it."
- Winston Churchill

Monday, March 7, 2016

new language of painting


- Jackson Pollock dripped paint upon canvases on the floor.

Thursday, March 3, 2016

42


"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards." 

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

dull


"I drink to make other people more interesting."
- Variously attributed

sui generis


"We're not about 'First' we're about 'Best.'
- Tim Cook

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

cheap tool