Sunday, December 31, 2017

actor on Buddhism

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Saturday, December 30, 2017

preferred libation

Former Canadian Prime Minister John Turner' likes Scotch and Soda.

"the product of a more forgiving environment"

Friday, December 29, 2017

the greatest competitive advantage?

- Shawn Achor

about the ride

"The joy we feel growing towards our potential."
- Ancient Greeks on happiness 

on appeasement

"When will they simply learn that you cannot reason with a tiger when your head is in its mouth?"
- Sir Winston Churchill

Thursday, December 28, 2017

on gold medals

"If you're not enough without it, you're not enough with it."
- Cool Runnings

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

"orchid kids"

"We can't change our genes, but we can change the environment."
- UC Berkeley

Monoamine oxidase A

"5% of men are responsible for 60% of all violent crime."
- Dunedin Longitudinal Study

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

a night out with Caligula

"Eat, drink and be merry for tomorrow we shall die."
- Roman Axiom

Sunday, December 24, 2017


"40% of the food produced is wasted."
- Chef Dan Barber, Blue Hill

Thursday, December 21, 2017

comedy as therapy

“You stop playing when you get older – everything becomes serious business – but (improv) releases a lot of pressure ... It opened me up to being a better version of myself.” Full article here.

Tuesday, December 19, 2017


"The true course in conducting military operations, is to make no movement until the preparations are complete."
- General George McClellan, who was ousted by Lincoln for inaction and replaced by alcoholic, last in his West Point class Ulysses S. Grant who won the Civil War

Friday, December 15, 2017

"Quick to hurt."

"Always looking to be offended."
- The aggrieved Newfoundland axiom

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Rules for Happiness

“Something to do, someone to love, something for which to hope.”

Tuesday, December 12, 2017


"Imagination is more important than knowledge."
- Albert Einstein

Monday, December 4, 2017

on advertising

"You don't persuade the people through the intellect; you persuade them through passions ... sitting by yourself and getting an idea is more important than all the technology in the world."
- Bill Bernbach

Saturday, December 2, 2017

"Who do you know ...

... even when they're right in front of you?"
- Jim Carrey